Pflügers Archiv - European Journal of Physiology
Latest Publications





Published By Springer-Verlag

1432-2013, 0031-6768

Jannis Körner ◽  
Angelika Lampert

AbstractSensory neurons are responsible for the generation and transmission of nociceptive signals from the periphery to the central nervous system. They encompass a broadly heterogeneous population of highly specialized neurons. The understanding of the molecular choreography of individual subpopulations is essential to understand physiological and pathological pain states. Recently, it became evident that species differences limit transferability of research findings between human and rodents in pain research. Thus, it is necessary to systematically compare and categorize the electrophysiological data gained from human and rodent dorsal root ganglia neurons (DRGs). In this systematic review, we condense the available electrophysiological data defining subidentities in human and rat DRGs. A systematic search on PUBMED yielded 30 studies on rat and 3 studies on human sensory neurons. Defined outcome parameters included current clamp, voltage clamp, cell morphology, pharmacological readouts, and immune reactivity parameters. We compare evidence gathered for outcome markers to define subgroups, offer electrophysiological parameters for the definition of neuronal subtypes, and give a framework for the transferability of electrophysiological findings between species. A semiquantitative analysis revealed that for rat DRGs, there is an overarching consensus between studies that C-fiber linked sensory neurons display a lower action potential threshold, higher input resistance, a larger action potential overshoot, and a longer afterhyperpolarization duration compared to other sensory neurons. They are also more likely to display an infliction point in the falling phase of the action potential. This systematic review points out the need of more electrophysiological studies on human sensory neurons.

Lisanne M. M. Gommers ◽  
Jenny van der Wijst ◽  
Caro Bos ◽  
Luuk A. M. Janssen ◽  
René J. M. Bindels ◽  

Nicolás Martín Kouyoumdzian ◽  
Gabriel Kim ◽  
María Julieta Rudi ◽  
Natalia Lucía Rukavina Mikusic ◽  
Belisario Enrique Fernández ◽  

Sign in / Sign up

Export Citation Format

Share Document